Live NASCAR Cup updates from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

The NASCAR Cup Series races on July 31, 2022, at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The Verizon 200 at the Brickyard is scheduled for 82 laps, over furlongs of 15, 20 and 47.

This is the second year the Cup cars have raced the 14-turn, 2,439-mile track. Tyler Reddick, who won at Road America earlier in July, earned the pole position for Sunday’s race. AJ Allmendinger won the 2021 race and also won Saturday’s Xfinity Series race.

We’ll continue with all the action, so please remember to refresh.

What fans are saying:‘I’ve seen enough ovals:’ Fans welcome road course change for NASCAR race at IMS

NASCAR Cup race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Restart of round 65: Tyler Reddick takes the lead, with Ryan Blaney, AJ Allmendger and Chase Elliott in hot pursuit. Christopher Bell loses several points, Kevin Harvick and Alex Bowman come together as several others have to avoid contact on the grass between turns 7 and 8.

Round 61: Kyle Larson and Ty Dillon meet in Turn 1, and there’s a caution. It appears to be unharmed after a major impact. “All I saw was a flash of blue (the color of Larson’s car),” Dillon said after being released from the field care facility.

Round 60: Daniil Kvyat slows down on the track and takes care of the car back on pit road.

Round 56: AJ Allmendinger, who has won twice at this track in the past year, is enjoying some time at the front of the field. However, he still has one more pit stop to make.

Round 53: Brad Keselowski returns.

Round 50: Tyler Reddick challenges Christopher Bell for the lead and makes it through Turn 14. Reddick pits at the end of Lap 51.

Round 45: Christopher Bell has a 2+ second lead over Tyler Reddick. Bubba Wallace is 3rd.

Round 41: Brad Keselowski goes off the track in turn 7.

Round 40 restart: Christopher Bell and Bubba Wallace lead the field. Rarely, no driver spins in turn 1.

Round 35, second stage: Christopher Bell wins the stage, the first of his Cup career, with Kyle Busch 2nd. Front row starters Tyler Reddick and Austin Cindric pit on Lap 33. Drivers with adventures in Turn 1 so far include — but may not be limited to — AJ Allmendinger, Harrison Burton, Cole Custer, Aric Almirola, Kyle Larson, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, Chase Elliott, Alex Bowman, Denny Hamlin, Ross Chastain and Justin Haley.

Round 27: Another turn 1 case: AJ Allmendinger runs and Harrison Burton and Cole Custer collide there as well.

Round 24: Kyle Larson and Aric Almirola have flat tires. They gather — of course — on the 1st turn.

Round 20 restart: Ryan Blaney and William Byron lead the field. Kevin Harvick spins in turn 2 and Alex Bowman exits with left front damage. Blaney and Byron remain 1-2.

Round 15, first stage: Chase Briscoe wins the stage, with Ryan Blaney 2nd. Tyler Reddick and Austin Cindric pitted at the end of the 13th lap.

Round 13: Chris Buescher’s car has to go out in his pit box. Also, Chase Elliott goes off the track in turn 1.

Round 7: Brad Keselowski spins and is locked in Turn 1. He started 12th but is running 23rd.

Round 5: Denny Hamlin has problems with his Toyota. After starting 11th, he is running 34th. Here’s a different way to get through turns 1 and 2.

Round 2: Ross Chastain spins. Austin Sydrick pins Chase Briscoe for 2nd.

Round 1: Justin Haley, who started 17th, spins in Turn 1. Tyler Reddick maintains his lead, but Chase Briscoe passes Austin Cindric for 2nd.

Saturday at IMS:How Alexander Rossi, AJ Allmendinger earned their victories

Street Course Leaders:13 NASCAR Drivers Who May Have an Advantage in IMS

Happy birthday to Kyle Larson

The defending Cup champion is 30. Larsson won 10 races in 2021 and has one win in 2022. He starts 22nd today.

Denny Hamlin reaches a milestone

The winner of 48 Cup matches is in his 18th season. Today he starts 15. He won last weekend’s race at Pocono Raceway, but was disqualified after failing post-race inspection.

The NASCAR Cup starting lineup

  1. (8) Tyler Reddick, Chevrolet, 99.378 mph.

  2. (2) Austin Cindric, Ford, 99,095.

  3. (14) Chase Briscoe, Ford, 98,962.

  4. (20) Christopher Bell, Toyota, 98,721.

  5. (22) Joey Logano, Ford, 98,476.

  6. (12) Ryan Blaney, Ford, 98.444.

  7. (34) Michael McDowell, Ford, 98,330.

  8. (9) Chase Elliott, Chevrolet, 98.226.

  9. (38) Todd Gilliland, Ford, 98,004.

  10. (18) Kyle Busch, Toyota, 97.429.

  11. (99) Daniel Suarez, Chevrolet, 98,449.

  12. (6) Brad Keselowski, Ford, 98.440.

  13. (21) Harrison Burton, Ford, 98,418.

  14. (10) Aric Almirola, Ford, 98,410.

  15. (11) Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 98,405.

  16. (17) Chris Buescher, Ford, 98,345.

  17. (31) Justin Haley, Chevrolet, 98,341.

  18. (4) Kevin Harvick, Ford, 98.336.

  19. (23) Bubba Wallace, Toyota, 98,291.

  20. (16) AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 98,250.

  21. (1) Ross Chastain, Chevrolet, 98,230.

  22. (5) Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 98.224.

  23. (24) William Byron, Chevrolet, 98,098.

  24. (41) Cole Custer, Ford, 97,990.

  25. (19) Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, 97,989.

  26. (45) Ty Gibbs, Toyota, 97,938.

  27. (15) Joey Hand, Ford, 97,930.

  28. (48) Alex Bowman, Chevrolet, 97,555.

  29. (3) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 97,494.

  30. (42) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 97,348.

  31. (7) Corey Lajoie, Chevrolet, 96.878.

  32. (77) Josh Bilicki, Chevrolet, 96.447.

  33. (51) Cody Ware, Ford, 96.159.

  34. (27) Loris Hezemans, Ford, 95,966.

  35. (43) Erik Jones, Chevrolet, 95,956.

  36. (26) Daniil Kvyat, Toyota, 95,499.

  37. (78) Josh Williams, Ford, 93.321.

  38. (47) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Chevrolet, 84,970.

This article originally appeared on the Indianapolis Star: live NASCAR Cup race updates from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.